Badminton At the 1996 Olympics

The sport of badminton was forever changed when, in June 1985, the International Olympic Committee recognized the sport's magnitude (the IBF has 130 member countries) and voted unanimously to promote badminton to full-medal Olympic status. After having been a demonstration sport at the 1972 Olympics in Munich, Germany, and an exhibition sport in 1988 in Seoul, South Korea, badminton made a hugely successful full-medal debut at the Games of the XXVth Olympiad in Barcelona, Spain, in 1992. Badminton's worldwide popularity was proven during the 1992 Olympics, when an estimated 1.1. billion viewers around the globe watched the eight-day inaugural badminton competition on television.

As expected, Asian countries took top honors at badminton's Olympic debut. Indonesia, a nation that had never won an Olympic gold medal, took home the men's singles gold, silver, and bronze; women's singles gold; and men's doubles silver medals in badminton. Malaysia won its first-ever Olympic medal, a bronze in men's doubles.

The United States' first Olympic badminton team consisted of its six top athletes -- three men and three women. In 1996, the USBA looks forward to improving upon its Olympic performance in Barcelona, in which U.S. athletes reached the second round of play.


As in 1992, the route to competing in the 1996 Olympics in badminton involves and international qualifying process. No U.S. trials will be held for badminton.

The one-year qualifying period for making the Atlanta games is April 1, 1995 - March 31, 1996, six months shorter than the 18- month qualifying period leading up to Barcelona in 1992. Basically, athletes must compete in at least 8 international tournaments during the qualifying period and earn a world player ranking; the Olympic field will be chosen according to the official IBF computer ranking list of world players at the end of the qualifying period.

The Olympic tournament will consist of at most 192 players: 36 chosen for men's singles; 36 for women's singles; 40 as men's doubles pairs; 40 as women's doubles pairs; and 40 as mixed doubles pairs. According to the IBF, an initial 176 players will be named; wild card entries will then be added; and finally players will be drawn from the reserve list of eligible players to produce the final 192 entries.

The players or teams ranked nos. 1-16 in each event will be selected first, and then selection will continue down the rankings until the list is fill out. Within this process, certain conditions must be met:

The list of eligible players will be published by the IBF and notified to all NOC's and IBF member associations by no later than April 15, 1996.

The official, complete qualification requirements and World Player Ranking guidelines can be obtained from the USBA.


July 24  W&M singles 1/32  9:00am-11:30am
July 24  W&M singles 1/32  2:00pm-4:30pm
July 24  W&M singles 1/32  8:00pm-11:00pm
July 25  W doubles, M doubles 1/16  9:00am-12:45pm
July 25  M doubles, M singles 1/16  2:00pm-5:00pm
July 25  M singles 1/16  8:00pm-10:15pm
July 26  W singles 1/16, M singles octos  9:00am-12:30pm
July 26  M singles octos, W singles 1/16  2:00pm-5:00pm
July 26  W singles 1/16, Mixed doubles 1/16  8:00pm-11:59pm
July 27  W singles octos, Mixed doubles octos  9:00am-1:00pm
July 27  M doubles octos, Mixed doubles octos  2:00pm-6:00pm
July 27  W doubles octos  8:00pm-11:00pm
July 28  W&M doubles quarterfinals  9:00am-12:00pm
July 28  W&M singles quarterfinals  8:00pm-11:00pm
July 29  Mixed dbls. quarterfinals, W dbls semis.  9:00am-12:15pm
July 29  W&M doubles semifinals  8:00pm-11:45pm
July 30  W&M singles semifinals  9:00am-11:45am
July 30  M singles semis., Mixed dbls. semis.  2:00pm-5:45pm
July 30  W&M doubles bronze medal  8:00pm-11:00pm
July 31  W&M doubles gold medal  9:00am-12:30pm
July 31  W&M singles bronze, Mixed bronze medal  7:00pm-11:30pm
August 1  W&M singles gold, Mixed gold medal  9:00am-2:00pm


Gold - Allan Budi Kusuma (INA)
Silver - Ardy B. Wiranata (INA)
Bronze - Hermawan Susanto (INA) and Thonas Stuer-Lauridsen (DEN)'

Gold - Susi Susanti (INA)
Silver - Bang Soo Hyun (KOR)
Bronze - Tang Jiuhong (CHN) and Huang Hua (CHN)

Gold - Park Joo Bong and Kim Moon Soo (KOR)
Silver - Eddy Hartono and Rudy Gunawan (INA)
Bronze - Razif Sidek/Jalani Sidek (MAS) and Li Yongbo/Tian Bingyi

Gold - Hwang Hye Young/Chung So Young (KOR)
Silver - Guan Weizhen/Nong Qunhua (CHN)
Bronze - Shim Eun Jung/Gil Young Ah (KOR) and Lin Yan Fen/Yao Fen

This information brought to you by courtesy of the USBA.